Arigato Japan

Destination · Japow

Hakuba Goryu and Hakuba47: one ticket, night skiing and gates

Two mountains on one $65 (¥10,000) day ticket, a lit night slope at Goryu, and why Hakuba47 has no gate of its own.

Hakuba Goryu and Hakuba47 sell one lift ticket for both mountains: $65 (¥10,000) at the window, $7 (¥1,100) under a one-day valley pass. The saving disappears if you pay for two shuttle rides. Goryu has a lit night slope and a backcountry gate. Hakuba47 has no gate of its own.

Dollar figures convert at ¥155 to US$1, rounded. You pay in yen, so check the rate.

Are Goryu and Hakuba47 right for you?

Yes for families, night skiers, park riders and Epic holders; no for Ikon holders or anyone who wants a gate at Hakuba47 itself.

Good for

  • Two mountains on one ticket.
  • Night skiing: Goryu lights about 1,000 m of the Tomi slope.
  • Park riders: Goryu says its Goryu Waves park returns this season, and a rider guide lists 47PARKS at Hakuba47.
  • Families: a child (6 to 12) pays $29 (¥4,500), and Goryu’s page lists some free child lift days.
  • Epic holders, who get a free 5-day ticket.

Not for

  • Ikon holders: Hakuba is not on Ikon.
  • Anyone who wants a gate at Hakuba47 itself.
  • Anyone who needs English service confirmed. Hakuba47 has English lessons, but no page states staff English level, and Goryu’s site is in Japanese.
  • Bath seekers: neither resort lists an onsen.

How big are the two mountains?

Goryu is the bigger mountain, with a 926 m drop against Hakuba47’s 794 m.

How big are the two mountains?
GoryuHakuba47
Top1,676 m1,614 m
Base750 m820 m
Vertical926 m794 m
Lifts1 gondola, 11 chairs1 gondola, 6 chairs
Courses158
Level split35 / 40 / 25%30 / 40 / 30%
Longest run5,000 m3,600 to 6,400 m, sources differ

Level split is beginner, intermediate and advanced.

The two areas share one ticket, and Hakuba47’s page implies a link: its Line-E lift and Goryu’s Alps 4th lift both lead to the same trailhead. Confirm the connection on the trail map. Figures come from the valley’s resort table, not the resorts. A third-party catalogue counts about 20 lifts across both: 2 gondolas, 17 chairs and 1 people mover.

How do you get there from Tokyo?

Take the Hokuriku Shinkansen to Nagano, about 80 minutes on the fastest train, then an Alpico express bus, about 70 minutes. In 2025-26 the bus cost $23 to $25 (¥3,500 to ¥3,800) one way, by stop and season; the 2026-27 fare is unclear right now, so check the operator page before you go. Alpico is a private line, so a rail pass may not cover it. More in Tokyo to ski resorts and Hakuba Valley.

The valley shuttle serves Hakuba47 and Goryu. Last winter riders without a valley ticket paid $5 (¥800) a ride, online only. 2026-27 timetables are not out, and Hakuba Station is not a named stop.

Hakuba47 says its car parks are free, with 2,000+ spaces. Goryu bans overnight parking and requires studless tyres from late November to late March. See Rent a car in Japan in winter with an IDP.

What does a day cost in 2026-27?

An adult day costs $65 (¥10,000) at the window, valid on both mountains.

What does a day cost in 2026-27?
AdultPrice
1 day$65 (¥10,000)
Half day$55 (¥8,500)
Early or spring$58 (¥9,000)
2 days$120 (¥18,500)
3 days$170 (¥26,000)
First online buy$61 (¥9,500)
Online recharge$53 (¥8,200)
Goryu night$42 (¥6,500)

Adult means ages 23 to 64. The 1-day window price includes a refundable $3 (¥500) deposit. The half day runs to 13:00 or from 12:00. Early or spring is a 1-day price. Online prices are for 1 day. The night ticket covers the lit Tomi slope and sells from 17:30.

The 2 and 3-day tickets need not be consecutive. They average $60 (¥9,250) and $56 (¥8,667) a day, about 8% and 13% under a single day. Senior (65 to 79) is $61 (¥9,500) and youth (13 to 22) $42 (¥6,500), window only with ID.

Goryu puts the $58 (¥9,000) rate before 15 December and from 15 March. Hakuba47 says after 10 March, so check the date. Spring night is $16 (¥2,500) from 8 March.

Shared ticket or Hakuba Valley pass?

Take the shared ticket if you will ski only these two mountains; the valley pass wins once you add a third resort.

Shared ticket or Hakuba Valley pass?
Goryu and Hakuba47Valley pass
1 day$65 (¥10,000)$72 (¥11,100)
3 days$170 (¥26,000)$210 (¥32,200)
Resorts2all 10
Night skiingseparate ticketnot included
Unused daysrefund terms not statedvoid, no refund

The shared ticket saves $7 (¥1,100) a day, about 10%, and $40 (¥6,200) over three days, about 19%. The valley pass includes the shuttle on ski days. Two paid shuttle rides cost $10 (¥1,600) and give $75 (¥11,600) against $72 (¥11,100), so drive or walk to keep the saving. Buy the valley pass if you will also ski Happo-One, Tsugaike or Hakuba Cortina. See Passes & prices.

Epic gives one free ticket for 5 consecutive days at all 10 resorts, with no blackout dates, not valid at night. Show your Epic Pass and photo ID at the Hakuba47 ticket centre or another designated window, and bring the physical card, since a mobile pass cannot ride the lifts. See Ikon and Epic in Japan.

Riding a board?

Riders need a leash at every valley resort, and both mountains have snowboard schools.

  • A leash is mandatory at every Hakuba Valley resort.
  • Goryu Waves returns with renovated Goryu Park and Goryu Bumps and a new Step Up Land. Its 2026-27 dates and hours, and the 47PARKS status, are unannounced.
  • Hakuba47 Snowboard School takes riders from age 4 and lists English. Goryu Snowboard Academy gives private lessons from age 4. Neither directory lists prices.

More: Snowboarding in Japan.

What do the rules say about leaving the piste?

Goryu is one of the valley’s five gated resorts. The valley page lists Hakuba47 as no-gate with backcountry prohibited. Hakuba47’s own page says there is no direct trailhead, only designated gates reached through the Line-E lift or Goryu’s Alps 4th lift, and any other exit is banned.

Hakuba47 has no gate of its own: the gates are reached through Goryu terrain, so confirm on site.

Safety At a gated resort you must register and carry a transceiver, probe and shovel. Never go alone.

  • Submit the Mountain-Climbing Registration Form before you buy tickets, online or at a designated window. Hours and the gate location are not stated.
  • In bad weather, Hakuba47 strongly advises against exiting into the alpine area, especially at Goryu.
  • Hakuba47’s Tree Riding Zone is members-only, unpatrolled and steep. The armband is $3 (¥500) cash, for riders 13 or older and over 150 cm.
  • Entering closed areas at Hakuba47 can cost the ticket and a rescue bill: patrol is $130 (¥20,000) per person per hour.

Details: Backcountry & safety and Can I ski off-piste in Japan without a guide?

Is the 2026-27 snow looking good?

The 2026-27 outlook leans warm, weaker on Honshu’s Sea of Japan side than in Hokkaido. The Japan Meteorological Agency’s September outlook (unconfirmed figures) gives that side a 50% chance of below-normal snowfall, and a snow-forecast site rates Honshu below average to average. The reports do not say which zone covers Hakuba. Guides put the valley at 10 to 12 m a year. See Snow odds.

Goryu’s ticket centre is listed as open from opening day to 6 May 2027. One guide has Goryu opening 21 November, which is unconfirmed. Hakuba47 gives no dates.

Where next?

Compare Happo-One for the biggest drop, Tsugaike for beginners or Hakuba Cortina for snow reputation. Back to the Japow hub.

Questions

Can I ___ in Japan?